Home > rock legend 60's, rock legend 70's > Band members Deep Puprple

Band members Deep Puprple

There have been eight different line-ups of Deep Purple. The original Mark I line-up of guitarist Ritchie Blackmore, keyboardist Jon Lord, drummer Ian Paice, singer Rod Evans and bassist Nick Simper released three albums, before Evans and Simper were replaced by Ian Gillan and Roger Glover respectively to create Mark II.  The second line-up is regarded as the “classic” Deep Purple,  recording In Rock, Fireball, Machine Head and Who Do We Think We Are; this line-up lasted until 1973, when Gillan (followed by Glover) left the band. David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes joined to create Deep Purple Mark III,  though co-founding member and guitarist Blackmore left in 1975 to be replaced by Tommy Bolin. Mark IV lasted only a year and disbanded for what would become eight years after a concert at the Empire, Liverpool, on 15 March 1976.

While on hiatus, members concentrated on other projects, including Rainbow (Blackmore and Glover), Whitesnake (Coverdale, Lord and Paice), Black Sabbath (Gillan and Hughes, at different times) and Gillan (Gillan).

Deep Purple reunited in 1984 with the Mark II line-up of Gillan, Blackmore, Glover, Paice and Lord.  Gillan and Blackmore had a disagreement and the vocalist was fired from the band and replaced by Blackmore’s former bandmate in Rainbow, Joe Lynn Turner. Turner remained until 1992, when the Mark II line-up came together for the third time. Due to continuing conflicting interests between Gillan and Blackmore, the guitarist left the band for good in the middle of 1993’s The Battle Rages On tour. He was replaced with Joe Satriani for the remainder of the shows. Satriani could not join the band permanently due to contractual issues.

Steve Morse was chosen to be Blackmore’s full-time replacement in 1994, and he remains the guitarist to this day. In 2002 the most recent line-up change took place when Lord, who had been in every incarnation of the band to this point, left to pursue personal interests. He was replaced by Don Airey, formerly of Rainbow and Ozzy Osbourne’s band, to create the current Mark VIII line-up. Drummer Paice is now the only member left who has been present in every line-up of Deep Purple since the band’s formation in 1968.

Current members

* Ian Gillan – vocals, harmonica, congas (1969–1973, 1984–1989, 1992–present)
* Steve Morse – guitar (1994–present)
* Roger Glover – bass (1969–1973, 1984–present)
* Ian Paice – drums, percussion (1968–1976, 1984–present)
* Don Airey – keyboards, piano, synthesizer (2002–present)

Former members

* Ritchie Blackmore – guitar (1968–1975, 1984–1993)
* Jon Lord – keyboards, backing vocals (1968–1976, 1984–2002)
* Rod Evans – lead vocals (1968–1969)
* Nick Simper – bass guitar, backing vocals (1968–1969)
* David Coverdale – lead vocals (1973–1976)
* Glenn Hughes – bass guitar, vocals (1973–1976)
* Tommy Bolin – guitar, vocals, piano (1975–1976)
* Joe Lynn Turner – vocals (1990–1992)
* Joe Satriani – guitar (1993–1994)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: